perspective

Valid Reflections

Just read a friend’s post update in the evil Facebook how she “wished” she could tour Europe, but had to save for her child’s tuition fee. And I thought, this is true especially if you have mouths to feed other than your own. The reality is, you need money to survive in this world. It is not *everything,* but it is a BIG FACTOR.

I never been married or engaged, no kids.  I live by myself, I pay my own bills, and I remember being asked: “If you were to choose just ONE… what would you pick: Work for MONEY OR PASSION?” Now in my 30’s, I can say… without any hesitation, regret or apprehension that I would pick the cold hard cash over the raw fire in my belly. Why?! Because I realize now that nothing in this world is FREE… and to fund my passions, I need to pay my way (instead of relying on others to buy them for me).

My passions include reading, eating & investing, but would I be able to purchase the books I want to read without money?! NO. How about preparing for retirement as I have gotten older I have learned to appreciate investing .Donate for causes close to my heart, like women and animal and children rights without money?! NO. How about eating healthy food? I couldn’t afford it , if I don’t have any money. So yes, I’m willing to sacrifice many things like my beauty sleep & free time for a large paycheck, if it means earning (more than) enough to fulfill my passions without sacrificing my health, because obviously, health is wealth.

There is *nothing* so gravely wrong or “loser” about taking the path more traveled. Choosing the “normal” road or getting a regular paycheck or a conventional job/business doesn’t automatically mean that you are turning your back on your creative passions.

I don’t want to sound like a “dream killer,” but I speak from experience. Face it, things add up. You cannot live on passion alone. By itself, it will not feed you or your family, not unless you’re already swimming in dough to begin with. Unfortunately, that’s not the truth for majority of people in this world. Not even for me.

You cannot (realistically) afford all your dreams. At least, not all the time or all at the same time. That’s the first lesson a person has to learn that he can’t have everything and to find fulfillment and happiness with whatever he has or can afford. It’s not enough to dream *big.* your earning capacity must also be BIG. “Money cannot buy you peace of mind. But it can buy more freedom in life. “ This is why I really “grew up” to be the person I am today: passionate & ambitious in a decent manner. So there. Think about it. There is so much more to say, but I suppose I should leave that for another post.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

